Autumnal Endeavors

Babes in Deutschland, Fall Bucket ListI tried to restrain myself from jumping on the fall bandwagon too early, afterall, the first day of the season isn’t until the 22nd. Alas, my excitement for all things crisp and cozy has won out. In Hawaii, September through November was reserved for “pretend fall.” Every time the weather was the slightest bit overcast I would crank the AC and throw on my knee high boots and a scarf with my tank top… It just wasn’t quite the same, however.

After three years of eternal sunshine, I’m now happily enjoying “real fall.” I’m pretty sure it’s my favorite season (the week of Christmas excluded). Apples, flannel, and sweaters oh my! These are some of the fun things we plan to do this year.

Babes in Deutschland, Fall Bucket List

  • Be thankful
  • Make caramel apples (Aurora chose to add this one to our list!)
  • Attend festivals
  • Pick pumpkins (I haven’t decided how to carve/paint/decorate them yet… any ideas?)
  • Take hikes (Family volksmarch time!)
  • Drink hot apple cider (Notice I didn’t say anything about icky pumpkin lattes)
  • Oktoberfest (Who wants to watch my kids?)
  • Make costumes (Halfway done with the sewing, reveal coming soon!)
  • Hayrack ride
  • Pick apples
  • Make popcorn balls
  • Jump in leaves (I think Gray is going to go nuts for this!)
  • Donate
  • Picnic
  • Corn Maze
  • Trick or treat
  • Knit (Anyone want to teach me?)
  • Make s’mores
  • Roast pumpkin seeds (Think the kids will eat them?)
  • Wear layers (Layer ALL the layers!)
  • Make crafts (I know I want to do glycerine leaves and a gratitude garland with the kids)
  • Cuddle by the fire
  • Photoshoot (It has been way too long since I set up an intentional photoshoot with the purpose of taking artisic photos. Need to remedy that!)
  • Make soups and stews (Mmm tomato basil soup!)
  • Watch holiday movies
  • Bonfire
  • Make taffy
  • Mail letters (Who wants one πŸ™‚ )
  • Take walks
  • Bake for friends (Any volunteers?)
  • Watch parade (Wonder if we’ll get it over here…)
  • Read (Or finish reading the six books I’m in the middle of)
  • Celebrate Thanksgiving (Wish my family and Hawaiian ohana could be here…)
  • Reflect gratitude
  • Country bike rides (Just need to find a bike now)
  • Go on dates (What’s a date?)
  • Roadtrip (The possibilities are endless!)

Babes in Deutschland, Fall Bucket ListIn case anyone was curious, I used watercolor pencils to make my list. These are probably my favorite art supply ever! These ones are actually made for kids… but who can resist the adorable tin and sketching with colors named: biscuit festival, dew at five am, hop skip jump, and rabbit boots. They make me feel a kid again. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Autumnal Endeavors

  1. Pingback: Fall Blessings | Babes in Deutschland

  2. Pingback: Salt Water Taffy | Babes in Deutschland

Leave a Reply

