No Tip Lamp

Glue magnets to a lamp and stick it to a metal surface to prevent kids from knocking it off the table!All parents know that decorating around the necessities of a toddler can be vexing, I myself have lost many a vase/knick knack/lamp to a child’s budding curiosity. So, you would think that by now I would have learned not to put glass objects within Grayson’s reach, but unfortunately pretty glass things just keep calling to me. I love this lamp from Target, and love that we’ve filled it with love notes, but I knew that I had to come up with a way to keep Gray from loving it too much as well!

I’m pretty proud of this one, we ended up repurposing an old filing cabinet as an end table, a coat of paint and it was good to go, the perfect base for my my lamp because it’s metal… Know where I’m going here?

Glue magnets to a lamp and stick it to a metal surface to prevent kids from knocking it off the table!You guessed it, magnets! I found some really strong neodymium magnets and super glued them to the base of my lamp. I let it dry, stuffed our old notes inside and flipped it on to the filing cabinet.

Glue magnets to a lamp and stick it to a metal surface to prevent kids from knocking it off the table!They’re barely visible and best of all, it’s spill proof! Gray can’t budge it by pulling on the cord or pushing it since he’s not tall enough, but it does remove easily enough though for an adult should we want to swap out the contents inside.

Glue magnets to a lamp and stick it to a metal surface to prevent kids from knocking it off the table!I love it when I outsmart my kids! I feel like I’ve finally got one up on them… Now I just need to figure out how to magnetize all of their toys to spots where they go, hmm. 😉

2 thoughts on “No Tip Lamp

Leave a Reply

