Our New House: Art Room

I love to create, and since we have so many extra bedrooms in our rental, I wanted to design a space that both the kids and I could create in together. I think it’s so important for children to be able to explore art and to create without so many rules… but I admit, I’m a bit of a neat freak. So, I wanted a space that would be easy for me to have peace of mind in giving them access to things like paint and glue because the mess is contained and easy to tidy up when they finish.

Babes in Deutschland, Art Room

Shelves: Ikea, Pegboard: Amazon, Kid desks: Ikea, Stools: Ikea, Adult Desk: Ikea

We took our first trip to Ikea ever as soon as we arrived in Germany, and most of this wall is a reflection of that! The pegboard contains all of the art supplies that I wanted them to have access to on a daily basis, crayons, colored pencils, watercolors, stamps, markers, glue sticks, stickers, etc. Things that don’t make a huge mess. I also stuck some lysol cleaning wipes on their level as well and have been working with them on cleaning up their station as soon as they finish!

On the shelves above are more art supplies that they don’t need quite so much freedom of access to as well as all of our sensory supplies. I plan to do a separate post about our new sensory table I made, but I’ll give you a sneak peek here.

Babes in Deutschland, Art RoomI found the table for free at the Airman’s Attic and salvaged it’s sticker covered, loose legged self with a bit of elbow grease and spray paint. Then, I cut a hole in it so that I could inset a shallow plastic bin and there you have my super cheap sensory table! Despite its humble origins, it has been working great for the kids. I used to let them play with sensory supplies in the bins on the floor, but that inevitably meant that they dumped them or climbed in them. This way, the mess is more contained and the supplies are much more organized. I’ll go in to more detail later about some of the fun things we’ve done with our table. 🙂

Babes in Deutschland, Art Room

And then there’s my area… cluttered with crafting supplies as usual, but the view is fantastic! I haven’t had a chance to try this yet, but I’m hoping, especially as they get older, that I’ll be able to work on my projects while they play at the sensory table or make make their artworks. Right now I think Mr. Grayson needs a bit too much supervision for that, but there’s always hope for the future.

What sort of space to do find conducive to letting your kids run a little wild with messy play?

7 thoughts on “Our New House: Art Room

    • Thanks, that is one of the best things about moving, you get a chance to redo all of the things you didn’t like in your old house! This time the craft materials will remain organized!!!

  1. Oh, IKEA how we miss thee! And you too :p this is awesome! Loving that airmans attic table, I spray painted something for the first time the other day and I’m hooked. Spray paint all the things!

  2. Pingback: Sensory Table | Babes in Deutschland

  3. Pingback: Our New House: Master Bedroom & Hallway | Babes in Deutschland

  4. Pingback: Sensory Table | Life Lesson Plans

Leave a Reply

