Our New House: Aurora’s Room

After many hours of dreaming and even more hours of hard work, we finally have a few rooms in our house complete! As someone who moves frequently, it can be a challenge to re use decor in different rental homes and to solve all of the quirky problems that each house seems to have, but I feel like we’ve really lucked out with an awesome house at this base and it’s finally starting to feel like our home.

The first room we finished was Aurora’s, we needed to reuse most of the decor she already had, but I wanted to update it a little bit for less of a nursery feel and more of a big girl feel. We sold her dresser when we moved from Hawaii, so the white one is new from Ikea, and Grayson inherited her old bed, but we were able to buy this one very inexpensively from our landlord who was moving out. It was originally black, but a little spray paint and wallah, I give you Aurora’s light and lovely bedroom!

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's roomBedspread: Target, Rug: Ikea, Dresser: Ikea, Pom Poms: Martha Stewart, Lanterns: Martha Stewart, Dolls: Blabla, Camel tote: 3 Sprouts, Doll bed: Ikea + I painted it and made new bedding, Curtains: Amazon + I added the pom poms, Embroidery hoops: Amazon

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's roomJon spent hours building this dresser… it looks nice, but oy was it a project!

I originally found the doll bed for free and then made it over to be used in the playroom, but I think the colors work well in here too and give the room a bit more color. I also tried to choose fabric for the embroidery hoops that that would punch it up a notch so the room wasn’t too “sweet.”

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's roomThe curtains are just plain 108″ sheers that I added an edging of yellow pom poms too. I also lined her pillowcase in the aqua pom poms to add some more color.

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's roomI am just in love with how light and bright her room is! It’s the exact room I would have wanted as a girl. I remember sitting for hours looking out my window as the sun streamed in, and I hope she enjoys her lovely little view as well.

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's room

Babes in Deutschland, a light and lovely little girl's roomI found the idea for this on Pinterest and loved it, and then just happened to stumble across the exact products they must have used to make it on Amazon and that sealed the deal. The pom poms are a pain to build, and I had to punch and sew my own yellow dots. (Martha Stewart does make a yellow garland product, but Amazon didn’t carry it, so I just made my own fo’ free!)

6 thoughts on “Our New House: Aurora’s Room

  1. Pingback: Our New House: Master Bedroom & Hallway | Babes in Deutschland

Leave a Reply

